...
Posted in  Eating out   on  February 27, 2023 by  Efrhen Gallego0

When you think about Cracker Barrel's menu options, your mind visualizes old Southern country food: Meat, Steakburgers, and a breakfast menu that stars eggs and bacon as their main ingredients.


You would not think there are readily available vegan items and other vegan options on the Cracker Barrel Menu.

 
Believe it or not, there are plenty of vegan options at Cracker barrel if you take the time to look over every menu item, especially since they added Impossible foods to their menu lineup. As a vegan, you must be aware of Impossible foods, the California plant-based meat substitute company.


 In this article, Awesome Vegan Options at Cracker Barrel for 2023 we share with you every Cracker Barrel Vegan option.

 
 Fear not, we have already done all the hard legwork for you. Stick around as we share with you over 15 vegan options at Cracker Barrel.

Outrageous Vegan Options at Cracker Barrel: Crazy, Yummy and New

What is Cracker Barrel?

 Cracker Barrel Old Country Store is a US restaurant franchise that offers comfort meals in a rural setting. It is a nationwide chain with over 600 locations in the USA. Although there aren't many vegan alternatives at Cracker Barrel, that situation is changing.

 The rocking chairs on the porch, the country store with the adorable children's clothing, and the candy are all present in every Cracker Barrel location, giving Cracker Barrel a unique Southern ambiance.

 Vegan Menu Options

Now let's go over the different Vegan-friendly menu options. These options do not cater to Vegans and don't appear as Vegan on the menu, but tick all the boxes for a Vegan customer: They are free from animal products.

Breakfast Menu

Vegan Breakfast Menu Choices

  • Impossible Sausage
  • English Muffin, Plain
  • Fresh Seasonal Fruit
  • Course Ground Grits
  • Fried Apples
  • Multi-grain toast
The vegan menu includes:
Impossible Sausage
English Muffin, Plain 
Fresh Seasonal Fruit
Fried Apples
Course Ground Grits
Multi-grain toast.

Vegan Sweet Toppings

There are several vegan sweet toppings. The problem is you won't find any Vegan pancakes or french toast. However, if you like sweet grits, you can order and top them with one of the vegan sweet toppings below. You could also use a sweet topping as spread on an order of multi-grain toast.

  • Vegan Pure Maple Syrup
  • Blueberry Syrup
  • Sugar-Free Syrup
  • Fruit Spread Low Sugar Content
Cracker barrel fruit offerings include fresh seasonal fruit, and fresh apple slices

Fresh Fruit

Vegan Kids Breakfast

Only one vegan menu entree: Tater Rounds

Lunch/Dinner Menu

Vegan Salad Options

All salads contain meat or dairy but get creative to turn them vegan.

House Salad - Order them without the bacon, cheese, and croutons

All salads contain meat or dairy but get by getting creative, you can turn them vegan.

  • House Salad - Order them without the bacon, cheese, and croutons
  • Chef Salad - Ask the server to prepare yours with no turkey, ham, bacon, croutons, or eggs.
  • Homestyle Chicken Salad - Omit the chicken, eggs, shredded cheese, croutons, and cheese wedge and you can enjoy a custom-made vegan treat.

Dairy-free sauces and dressing

A couple of vegan-friendly items that you can enjoy with other menu entrees on Cracker's menu: Balsamic Herb Vinaigrette and BBQ Sauce.

Fried apples are one of the cracker barrel's vegan sides

Fried Apples

Vegan Sides

Some sides may be cooked with animal lard so you will have to ask your local restaurant server how your menu choice is prepared.

  • Breaded Fried Okra
  • Sweet Whole Baby Carrots
  • Whole Kernel Corn (ask if cooked with lard)
  • Fresh Steamed Broccoli
  • Boiled Cabbage
  • Fried Apples
  • Plain baked potato or baked sweet potato
  • Steak Fries
  • Turnip Greens(asked if they are prepared with Lard)
  • Lima Beans
  • Fresh Apple slices

Stay away from green and pinto beans since they both are loaded with animal products. It is a real shame since both are rich sources of much-needed protein.

Barrel Bites

According to Cracker Barrel information sources, the Fried Pickles do not contain dairy or eggs. Great news for Vegan Pickle lovers.

Soups

Every soup on the menu contains dairy so we vegans are of luck as far as soups go. Sorry.

Cracker Barrel Non dairy beverage Strawberry Lemonade

Strawberry Lemonade

Non-dairy Beverages

  • Unsweetened iced tea
  • Sweetened Iced Tea
  • Lemonade
  • Orange Juice
  • Apple Juice
  • Coffee
  • Hot Tea
  • Soft Drinks

Desserts

A definitive strike-out for us vegans. All desserts are loaded with dairy so let's move on.

Meal Ideas

Breakfast

We make a few suggestions on how you can put together a DIY vegan meal with Cracker Barrel menu items. By mixing and matching you can put together a vegan meal you will love.

1- Impossible sausage, ground grits with fruit, and a glass of orange juice. If you like your grits sweet you can drizzle some maple syrup on your grit bowl.

2- Multigrain toast, meat substitute sausages, and side fruit. Round up with Apple Juice or Coffee to get your day going.

Lunch or Dinner Ideas

Plenty of ways to combine the vegan options we listed above.

- Salad (with modifications) with steak fries or baked potato.
- Vegetable plate with broccoli, baked potato, and fried apples.
- Use your imagination and mix and match vegan vegetable sides with the Impossible sausages.
- Round up with a drink from the beverages list for a complete meal.

Inside a Cracker Barrel Restaurant

Craker Barrel Visit Tips

Speak to your local restaurant Manager

Cracker Barrel's allergen guide advises customers to speak with the manager at their particular location before placing an order to inform the kitchen of specific allergies they might have.

Cross Contamination issues

Watch out for fried and grilled sides to avoid cross-contamination with non-vegan ingredients. Despite not having any non-vegan ingredients, Cracker Barrel's Impossible patties, steak fries, potato rounds, and fried okra are cooked on a grill that frequently prepares non-vegan scraps or in soybean oil, also used for non-vegan cuisine.


If you have issues with cross-contamination, then fast-food restaurants are not your best option. Stick to home cooking and eat only at all-vegan restaurants when you are out.

If you or a family member suffer from food allergies, Cracker Barrel offers a complete allergy guide called “Menu Guidance for Guests with Food ALLERGIES”.

Cracker Barrel Advisory for Allergic Customers

If you or a family member suffer from food allergies, Cracker Barrel offers a complete allergy guide called “Menu Guidance for Guests with Food ALLERGIES”. You can download it here.

This 11-page PDF allows anyone with allergies to check if any menu entree has an allergen they don't tolerate.

After going closely over the Guide we found out that their menu is completely peanut-free. Peanuts are a common, and dangerous, source of allergy for many people.

In the guide, you can also check if any item you want to order contains eggs, dairy, tree nuts, fish, sesame, shellfish, Soy, Wheat, or gluten. Those are the most common allergens for people susceptible to food allergies.

In Closing

Cracker Barrel is far from the best restaurant for those that follow a Vegan diet. But if you are on the road with few options, you can put together a vegan-friendly meal, no problem. And the availability of the Impossible Sausage entree on their menu makes Cracker Barrel an eating-out option for the Vegan customer.

Question and Answers

Question and Answers

Q. Does Cracker Barrel serve Vegan?

A. Cracker Barrel has several different menu options that are vegan-friendly.

These options do not cater to Vegans and don't appear as Vegan on the menu, but are free from animal products. Check all the Cracker Barrel Vegan options in this very article above.

Q. Does Cracker Barrel have plant-based foods?

A. Although Cracker Barrel caters to the meat-eating public, the restaurant also offers several Vegan options, including meat substitute sausages, if you know where to look. You create your custom-made plant-based plate.

Q. Are Cracker Barrel Fried Apples Vegan?

A. Yes! The Fried Apples are Vegan. If you are an Apple lover, you will find fresh Apple Slices on Cracker Barrel's menu as well.

Q. Does Cracker Barrel have the impossible burger?

A. Cracker Barrel has upset some meat-eating customers by offering Impossible Sausage as a protein option. For some reason, some in the meat-eating crowd got upset because Cracker Barrel has added ONE vegan/veggie-only entree to their menu when meat eaters have maybe fifty different things, they can order at Cracker Barrel. People are tough to understand… and selfish.

Q. Are Cracker Barrel dumplings Vegan?

A. The dumplings at Cracker Barrel are not vegan. The dumplings include Flour, salt, baking powder, shortening, dairy, and chicken broth. While some vegetarians might be able to eat these dumplings, vegans and anyone who doesn't eat poultry or dairy products should avoid them.

Q. Does Cracker Barrel have plant-based meat?

A. Yes, since 2022 Cracker Barrel added Impossible Sausage plant-based meat substitute to their menu.

Q. How can you tell if a cracker is Vegan?

A. Although crackers are a popular salty, crunchy snack among many people, they may not always be vegan-friendly.
Four of the top five spices on the market are dairy-based and typically contain a high concentration of whey solids, including cheese, onion, nacho, ranch, sour cream, and barbeque. Nonetheless, many cracker manufacturers offer vegan flavors.
Look closely for animal ingredients on the cracker label.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}
Social Share Buttons and Icons powered by Ultimatelysocial
Pinterest
Seraphinite AcceleratorOptimized by Seraphinite Accelerator
Turns on site high speed to be attractive for people and search engines.